Drug & Alcohol Education Program
Schedule: Every Tuesday
Triumph Life Saves offers a 3-Hour Alcohol & Drug Education Program (ADEP). This class is required by the Maryland MVA for drivers who have a valid foreign driver’s license and want to apply for a Maryland driver’s license. Once you have completed the program, you will be awarded the Alcohol and Drug Education Certificate valid for 12 months from the date of completion.
Individuals who hold a foreign driver’s license are required to successfully complete a vision screening, knowledge test, driving skills test, and the MVA-approved three-hour alcohol and drug education program in order to convert their license to a Maryland license. If the initial driver’s license is not in English, it must be accompanied by an International License, or a translation into English by an MVA-approved translator.
What do I have to do if I am required to attend this program?
- You must contact a 3-hour alcohol and drug education program provider directly to sign-up.
- When you have successfully completed the program and you have provided the school with a MD ID (Driver’s License Number), the certified Driving School will submit the 3 Hour Alcohol and Drug Education Certificate completion information to the MVA electronically.
- If you do not have a MD ID (Driver’s License Number) and you have completed the 3 Hour Alcohol and Drug Education program, a certificate with a control number will be issued to you.
- It is recommended that you confirm with the school which method that they will use for certifying your completion of the program.
- Take the certificate with you when you apply to the MVA for your driver’s license.
For more information on the ADEP program, please visit Maryland.gov’s website dedicated to it.
12-Hour Alcohol Education Program
The 12-Hour Alcohol Education Program (AEP) is an instructional program intended to provide rehabilitation for individuals convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI).
You may have been assigned to the AEP for one of the following reasons:
- You were referred by a District Court judge.
- You were referred by an Administrative Law Judge in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).
- You applied for a new driver’s license after your original license was revoked due to an alcohol-related incident.
If you are required to attend an AEP, the MVA will send you a referral letter. The letter will provide instructions for arranging a preliminary alcohol assessment and attending an alcohol education program.
The results of the alcohol assessment will determine if you are considered an alcohol abuser or alcohol dependent. If you are identified as either an alcohol abuser or alcohol dependent you will be required to successfully complete the longer, 26-week Alcohol Treatment Program, which incorporates the 12-hour AEP curriculum.
What do I have to do if I must attend a 12-Hour Alcohol Education Program (AEP)?
If you are not identified as either an alcohol abuser or alcohol dependent, you will be required to successfully complete only one 12-Hour AEP.
These are the things you must do:
- You must contact an AEP provider to sign-up for one of the sessions offered.
- The program must begin within 90 days from the due date printed in the top right hand corner on your referral letter.
- You must take the referral letter to your AEP session.
- If you misplace your letter and need a duplicate referral letter to take to class, please visit an MVA branch office or contact the Driver Improvement Programs Unit in the Driver Wellness and Safety Division. If a branch office is contacted, the branch representative will contact the Driver Improvement Programs Unit which will print the duplicate letter. The letter will be available at the counter or will be faxed or mailed to you within 24 hours.
Upon successful completion of the AEP session, you will receive a letter verifying your completion from the program provider. For more information on the AEP program, please visit Maryland.gov’s website dedicated to it.
Driver Improvement Program
Schedule: Every Tuesday
When the unfortunate happens and you are in danger of losing your license and driving privileges due to traffic violations, our classes for the Driver Improvement Program would prepare you to earn a certificate that can help you keep your license or lower your insurance rate. If the courts ordered you to take the Driver Improvement Program, Triumph Life Savers would work with you each step of the way to earn your license and your driving privileges back.
The Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is a 4-8 hour instructional program that is intended to provide driver rehabilitation. You may have been assigned to the driver improvement program for one of the following reasons:
- You were referred by a District Court Judge;
- You were referred by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH);
- You accumulated 5, 6, or 7 points on your driving record;
- You were convicted or granted probation before judgment for a moving violation while holding a provisional driver’s license.
If a judge decides that you must attend a driver improvement program, you will receive a letter from the MVA approximately 4-6 weeks after your hearing date.
What do I have to do if I am assigned to the Driver Improvement Program (DIP)?
The MVA referral letter will provide you with the requirements of the driver improvement program and a list of Driver Improvement Program (DIP) Providers. After receiving the letter, you must do the following:
- Contact a DIP provider directly for information regarding DIP location(s), available dates and times, and the fee associated with taking the program.
- Attend your selected class, being sure to take your MVA referral letter with you.
- If you misplace your referral letter and need a duplicate referral letter to take to class, please contact us, contact the Driver Improvement Programs unit in the Driver Instructional Services Division or visit an MVA branch office. If you visit a branch office, the branch representative will contact the DIP unit, which will print the duplicate referral letter. The letter will be available at the counter or will be faxed or mailed to you within 24 hours.
- Complete the DIP by the due date printed at the top right corner of the Driver Improvement Program referral letter.
The DIP class will last from 4 to 8 hours. Upon its completion, you will receive a certificate of completion from the provider. The certificate is for your records; the driver improvement program provider will separately notify the MVA of your successful completion.
For more information on the DIP program, please visit Maryland.gov’s website dedicated to it.
DUI/DWI Education | Level 0.5 Education Program
Schedule: Every Tuesday
Have you been arrested for a DUI or DWI in Maryland?
Or have you been charged with CDS possession or paraphernalia?
If you have been to court and have been ordered by the judge to attend Alcohol or Substance Abuse Education and/or treatment, then we have the classes you need to fulfill this requirement and in less time than you may think.
DUI/DWI Counseling, Treatment, and Education
If you have not been to court yet, it is best to get an assessment and start either treatment or education before going to court. As attorneys will most likely tell you, this lets the judge know that you are taking responsibility and that you have already had a professional assessment. Triumph Life Saves offers a range of educational services for adults and adolescents in a safe non-judgmental environment.
Most DUI programs focus on helping adults experiencing the consequences of excessive drug and/or alcohol use. The participant may be seeking out the benefits of the program for their own recovery, or because their attendance was mandated by a DUI court..
Additionally, the DUI programs can provide for those with a first-time DUI and may need state-required treatment. That being said, conviction is not required in order to participate, and some clients may enroll in these programs in order to proactively care for their own health and well-being.
After receiving a DUI/DWI people will need to attend either treatment or education. It is best to get an assessment and start either treatment or education before going to court. As attorneys will most likely tell you, judges look favorably on taking personal responsibility and having a professional assessment. The first step to see if you are appropriate for a 12-hour education program is to register to schedule an assessment down below.
Alcohol and Marijuana Education Program
Sessions run once a month from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. Triumph Life Savers offers a 12-hour brief education and treatment program for adults. This program is certified by the State of Maryland as an Early Intervention Level 0.5 Education Program. Clients will learn about the effects of alcohol or marijuana on their life, their brain, driving, family, and the law. It includes all of the DUI/DWI education program topics. The first step to see if you are appropriate for a 12-hour education program is to call to schedule an assessment.
Persons who have already been convicted of a DUI/DWI and have been court-ordered to complete a DUI/DWI program are NOT able to attend a weekend program and would attend our six-week class instead.